Blondin 3 Ring Circus

Life, Love and Laughter from inside my circus!

Press ON!

Posted by ab39 on August 23, 2007

 This morning while on the way to school, my oldest daughter started telling me about the student council at her school.  (the morning drive to school seems to be a great time of talking for us, where as the afternoon ride is just the opposite.)  She told me all about it and that she was thinking about going to the meeting.  My middle daughter piped up and mentioned that they were also having a meeting in the middle school about the student council and she also would like to go, but was nervous and scared…and it did not matter anyway because she knew she would not win the election so why even try.  I was sort of surprised to hear her say this and she sounded soo defeated when she had not even been a part of the meeting yet.  I asked her a few questions, then looked at her and explained that I certainly understood how she felt, but that I thought she should step outside of her comfort zone and GO FOR IT!  We talked about it for a couple more minutes while driving up thru the drop-off line and by the time she got out of the car, she had decided to at least go check out the interest meeting. 

 It struck me as I was driving to work that the theme of stepping outside of our comfort zones has been a pretty strong them in the Blondin household lately.  We have had some changes in our lives that has made us feel a little weird, uncomfortable and question God.  I have been telling my youngest for several weeks now that if she does not make the effort to be freindly and make friends, she should not expect any one to make the same effort back.  Earlier this summer, my oldest daughter and I had numerous conversations about how she was nervous about being part of the marching band at the highschool, how she would not know many people, and how she did not want to be perceived as a “band geek”.  Then, this morning my middle daughter said that no one knew who she was and for this reason, she could not run for student body council. 

I have to admit that I am probably the world’s worst!  I LOVE my comfort zone!  It is soo much easier to just stay there then to have to reach out.  Life has been full of changes lately and while it has been hard on me, it has been harder on my family.  I think that one of my fears is that I will wake up one day, twenty years from now, the girls all grown and because they had followed my lead, they were also contempt to be in their comfort zone at all times.  I cant imagine anything more sad for my girls (or for myself) than seeing them live their lives and not discover that God had so much more in mind for them —- more freedom, more joy, more peace…and they had missed it all because they refused to change or move outside of their box….put themselves out there…..take a chance…..and be ALL they can be!  

SOO—for Olivia, Abby and Leanna (and to all of you reading this who also feels trapped in your box of comfort), I want to encourage you to PRESS ON!  I’m not saying it will be easy.  We will have to make changes in our hearts and lives….and change is not always fun or easy….but, we can do it!  “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me….forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 3:12-14

Keep pressing on!  Dont give up…when you do not feel good…press on!  When your body aches and your just extremely tired…press on!  When the laundry is never ending…press on!  When it seems like everyone around you is mad at you…press on!  When the bills arent being met…press on!  When your day seems like it will never end…press on!  If I can do it, YOU can too!

Have a wonderful evening!  April

One Response to “Press ON!”

  1. Jackie said

    Hi April. You have mentioned change several times in your blogs. I am just wondering what these changes are. You are a brave girl and I admire your courage to keep going in spite of the opposition. Love, Jackie

Leave a Reply

 
