Blondin 3 Ring Circus

Life, Love and Laughter from inside my circus!

Finding My Safe Place

Posted by ab39 on February 5, 2008

Have you ever wished, when you are having a terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad day, that you could just run and hide in a safe place?  Do you have a safe place?  I admit that I do….my bedroom.  Everyone needs a place where we feel safe, and my own bedroom has become a refuge for me.  But, I am beginning to realize that my refuge has also become a crutch…..

God has convicted me lately that I am not seeking Him for refuge….seeking Him as my Safe Place.  While reading my devotions this week, I read Psalm 91:2, “He is my refuge and my fortress.”  I decided to look up refuge in my concordance and was re-directed to Deuteronomy 33:27, “The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.”  I do find comfort in knowing the God’s arms are outstretched and ready to catch me when and if I fall.”

I have many fears….but the fear of being pursued is one of my greatest.  Being pursued by never-ending pain and discomfort. Pursued by the unknown.  Pursued with finances, and more….I know that God does not necessarily remove the difficulty in my life.  I have prayed and prayed and asked God to eliminate my pain and struggles, but the difficulty remains.  It is in this time I must take refuge in God’s love and have the faith to believe it to be so. 

“Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.”  Psalm 34:8 

No matter how bad things appear, under the protection of God’s wings, I am safe.  I realize that it is not a place of no pain, but it isa place of comfort and hope.

Comfort and Hope that I am clinging to.

Leave a Reply

 
